Let’s Talk Fitness

img_4933

So this morning was an off one for me today. The cedar is SUPER high here in Texas and I am definitely feelin’ it. My alarm for work out days is set for 4:15 and today I slept through 5 minutes worth of the song The Bad Touch by The Bloodhound Gang.

I think I’ve touched on this before in one of the few previous posts I’ve made, but my work out routine is 3 days on and 1 day off. Normally I do a running and lifting day, a pack work out and lifting day, and then a 30 minute sprint/30 minute elliptical and lifting day. Lately I’ve been doing more elliptical work outs than running because of the cedar, but my runs are 6 miles when I do them. My pack work outs consist of putting on a backpacking pack with anywhere from 30-40 pounds of sand bags in it, and hopping on the elliptical for an hour. My cardio is always an hour long.

Lifting entails various work outs. I used to have a gym membership and do squatting and benching and all the big lifts. That’s been put on hold until I get a better paying job. Until then I have a home gym I use with a Bowflex and free weights. Todays weights will be chin ups, one arm dumbbell rows, and dumbbell incline rows. Tomorrow will be weighted dumbbell walk, seated bent over rear delt raise, and standing alternating dumbbell overhead press. I injured my shoulder last year so it’s been kind of shaky this year regarding upper body lifts but I’m making it through and making progress.

The work outs that I do, and being 5’6″ and currently 128 lbs as of this morning, this puts my TDEE somewhere above 2000. Which is good because I love to eat and this TDEE allows me to eat things I love without feeling like I’m missing out on things. But I do want to make something clear – I DO NOT work out because I feel like I have to or to be as skinny as possible, I work out because I love it and to keep fit for backpacking.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment