Donuts!

img_5120

I made these donut on a whim yesterday. I bought a donut pan about 2 weeks ago and decided to make some after work. The donut pan isn’t a mini donut pan, but it doesn’t really seem like it’s full size either. Medium donut pan? Either way, this recipe made 9 decent sized donuts for me to hoard to myself share with my family. I had some left over non-dairy cream cheese/yogurt frosting that I used on some donuts for myself, and iced the rest with a regular chocolate icing (and of course sprinkles, because everything is 100 times better with sprinkles).

Recipe:

  • 1 1/3 cup Bob’s whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar (for once I used just regular old white sugar)
  • Dash of baking soda and salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons Earth Balance butter (I used the whipped kind)
  • 1 tablespoon yogurt (I used ~19 grams Silk vanilla)
  • 1 large egg
  • 4 oz non-dairy milk (I used Silk Almond-Coconut)
  • Splash of vanilla
  1. I just combined all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and mixed until they were well combined.
  2. Melt the Earth Balance butter and stir in the yogurt, milk, vanilla and egg.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until the mixture doesn’t have any lumps.
  4. Spoon the batter (or put it into a plastic bag with the tip cut off and squeeze the batter into the donut pan). I made 9 donuts with my batter. Bake these at 425 degrees for 8-15 minutes, depending on your oven.

I iced the chocolate ones with a simple mix of 1/2 cup powdered sugar, about 3-4 tablespoons Hershey’s special dark cocoa, 1-2 tablespoons non-dairy milk, and a few grams of honey. Because I only iced 6 donuts with the chocolate I had leftover icing, but I imagine it would have been perfect for 9 donuts.

**Nutrition facts are based one ONE donut being a serving, made with the exact ingredients I used, making 9 donuts, AND without the icing.

Nutrition:

  • Calories: 124
  • Fat: 4.1 grams
  • Saturated Fat: 0.9 grams
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 1 gram
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 0.9 grams
  • Carbs: 19.3 grams
  • Fiber: 2.4 grams
  • Sugar: 5.6 grams
  • Protein: 2.6 grams

Leave a comment