Non-Dairy (Veggie) Lasagna

img_4907

Looks good right? I made this as one of my prepped meals this week (and I made my dear husband chicken parmesan because he can have dairy, curse him!). I split this up into 4 pieces and voila! 4 meals that I’ll eat Monday, Wednesday and Friday (I had one Sunday for lunch). There are a variety of ways to make this but I’m pretty satisfied with using eggplant instead of noodles and tofu instead of ricotta.

Let me explain the way I do my dinners a bit. I use whatever is on sale or in season, and I use whatever I have in the house. And I use a ton of garlic. Because I use MyFitnessPal to track calories and macros, every time I make a recipe that varies from the last I simply go in and edit it so that it fits whatever I used that week. So maybe this week I use eggplant in my lasagna, but next week zucchini is on sale. Guess I’m using zucchini and editing my recipe. Easy peasy with MyFitnessPal.

**Side Note Here: I don’t time when I bake things, my time is ALWAYS a guesstimate. I hate using that word but estimate or guess both seem wrong in this scenario. I’m literally taking a stab in the dark when I guesstimate the time in my baked goods. Every oven is different, some run hot, some run cool, some have a top burner that runs wild.

Recipe:

  • 14 oz extra firm tofu
  • 1 large egg
  • basil, oregano, salt, garlic powder and pepper
  • 1 juiced lemon
  • 1 medium eggplant (I used 260 grams to be exact)
  • 1 jar pasta sauce (Newman’s Own is what I generally use)
  • Accessory veggies (I used garlic and onions to help flavor)
  • Cashews, raw (I used 50 grams)
  • Nutritional yeast (I used 16 grams)

Instructions:

  1. Make the tofu ricotta first. This entails draining and patting dry the tofu and tossing it into the food processor with the egg, lemon juice, basil, oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Blend until it looks like real ricotta. Set aside in a bowl.
  2. Use a blender or food processor to blend cashews, nutritional yeast, some garlic powder and salt until fully combined into a powder. This makes the vegan parmesan that you can see so delicately sprinkled on top of my lasagna.
  3. Slice the veggies. Eggplant gets sliced extra thin, garlic and onions or whatever you use get sliced however you want.
  4. Layering – this is how I did mine; pour some sauce in the bottom, layer eggplant on top. Cover eggplant in ricotta tofu, then sprinkle some garlic, onions and vegan parm on top. Repeat until you have as many layers as you want or until your ingredients are used up. I made 2.5 layers. Bake in the oven at 425 degrees for until the sauce bubbles and the vegan parm on top is slightly brown, mine was in for some time between 30-45 minutes. I used an 8×8 baking dish for this.

**Nutritional info is based on 1 serving, and 1 serving is 1/4 of the recipe.

Nutritional Info:

  • Calories: 321
  • Fat: 13.5 grams
  • Saturated Fat: 1.5 grams
  • Polyunsaturated Fat: 3 grams
  • Monounsaturated Fat: 1.2 grams
  • Carbs: 33.5 grams
  • Fiber: 8.6 grams
  • Sugars: 13.4 grams
  • Protein: 20.6 grams

 

Leave a comment